SUNY Downstate Council

Established by Section 356 of the New York State Education Law, the SUNY Council of Downstate Medical Center consists of ten members – nine appointed by the Governor for seven-year terms (to serve without compensation), the tenth elected by and from Downstate's students for a one-year term. At Downstate, to expand student representation, a second, nonvoting, student is also elected annually. Also invited to attend is a representative of the College of Medicine Alumni Association and the Faculty.  The President and senior leadership of Downstate are the primary respondents charged with addressing the Council with regard to matters within its purview.

As provided in law and by SUNY Board of Trustees policies, Downstate's SUNY Council, among other duties, reviews all major plans of the College, its budgets, administration of physical plant and grounds, rules governing student behavior and conduct, naming of buildings and grounds, and recommends candidates for appointment as President of the College. Regular Meetings of the Council occur quarterly in accordance with the State Education Law.

Association of Council Members and Council Trustees of the State University of New York

Download the ACT Handbook

Downstate SUNY Council Members:

Reverend Dr. Kirkpatrick Cohall, Chair

Michael Connors, Esq.

Kunika Chahal, Voting Student Member

Timothy Morello, Nonvoting Student Member

Dr. Mirian Zavala


Ex Officio:

Dr. Constance Shames

Marlene Dietrich Heath

2023 Meeting Schedule

SUNY Downstate Council Archive