Advisory Boards

Community Advisory Board (CAB)

The 2022 DHSU School of Public Health Community Advisory Board (CAB) was envisioned to create, foster, and build meaningful, synergistic, and lasting partnerships with diverse stakeholders to promote excellence in our educational curriculum and in the scientific inquiry of major urban health challenges.  The main purpose of the SPH CAB is to provide regularly informed input on the school’s vision, mission, and values as well as on student outcomes, curriculum, and new plans and activities.

Our CAB is a dynamic cross-section of individuals who represent diverse sectors including academia, technology, food, healthcare, industry, and local representatives from the NYC Mayor’s office and Brooklyn Borough President’s Office. Many of our CAB board members are actively engaged as site perceptors for our APEx.

Member’s Name Position in CAB Professional Affiliation
Harvey Lawrence Chair Chief Executive Officer, Brownsville Multiservice Family Health and Wellness Center
Aimee Afable, PhD SPH Faculty Liaison Associate Dean for Community Engagement
Cheryl Hall Member Executive Director, Caribbean Women’s Health Association
Mon Yuck Yu Member Policy Director, Office of Brooklyn Borough President Antonio Reynoso
Jacqueline Barley Member Director of Planning at the Brookdale Medical Center
Nathan Sherfinski, MSW Member Senior Advisor to the Mayor for Health and Human Services
Susan Beane, MD, FACP Member Vice President and Executive Medical Director, Healthfirst, Inc
Ngozi Moses, MSc Member Executive Director, Brooklyn Perinatal Network
Marilyn Fraser, MD Member Chief Executive Officer, Arthur Ashe Institute for Urban Health
Adam Aponte, MD, MSC, FAAP Member Chief Medical Officer, Boriken Neighborhood Health Center
Alyson Clark, MPH Member Program Coordinator, HIV Prevention, Bureau of Hepatitis, HIV and Sexually Transmitted Infections, New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene and SPH Alum
Milenka Berengolc Member Director, Special Projects Brooklyn Center for Independence of the Disabled
Chizoba Nwankwo, PhD Member Executive Director, Outcomes Research, Merck
Michael Joseph, PhD, MPH Member Vice-Dean for Education, Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health
Ramon Gist, MD, FAAP Member Clinical Director, Kings Against Violence Initiative
Porez Luxama Member Executive Director, Life of Hope
Isaiah Marshall-Thomas Member Administrative Fellow, DHSU Office of the President and SPH alum
Cynthia de Luise, PhD Member Senior Director of Epidemiology at Pfizer Pharmaceutical
Edgar Mandeville, MD Member Chairman Emeritus, Arthur Ashe Institute for Urban Health
Sarita Dhuper, MD Member Founder & Executive Director of Live Light, Live Right
Tamer Badr, MD Member Program Manager, the Brownsville Community Culinary Center/Melting Pot Foundation
Donell Harvin, DrPH Member Senior Homeland Security Policy Researcher, the RAND Corporation


Alumni Advisory Board (AAB)

The School of Public Health (SPH) Alumni Advisory Board (AAB) is a coalition of alumni who represent the voice of SPH alumni to SPH leadership. Along with SPH leadership, they work to inform and create opportunities to advance professional development, networking, community service, and public health education. 

The composition of the SPH AAB includes a cross-section of alumni representing various sectors including: health care, local government, the pharmaceutical industry, community-based organizations, faith-based organizations, FQHC/safety-net providers, health technologies, women’s health associations, disability advocacy and service provider organizations. 

  • Eric Persuad, DrPH
  • Erika Usui, MPH
  • Erin Andrews, DrPH
  • Gladys Figaro-Amisial, MPH
  • Isaiah Marshall-Thomas, MPH
  • Jake Littman, MPH
  • Justin Tien, MD/MPH
  • Karl Charles-Pierre, MPH
  • Lauren Meador, MPH
  • Maly Fenelus, MD/MPH
  • Marline Attallah, MPH
  • Mazin Khalil, MPH
  • Natalie Octave, MPH, DrPH (in progress)
  • Nitya Devireddy, MPH
  • Rebecca Hill, DrPH
  • Shahidul Islam, DrPH
  • Shaquasha Shannon, MPH