Sanctioned and Embargoed Countries

The following countries have sanctions and are embargoed countries. This means that it is generally unlawful to export or import goods, services, and money to or from these countries.

  • Cuba
  • Iran
  • North Korea
  • Crimea region of Ukraine
  • Syria

Be sure to consult with Sponsored Programs Administration before engaging in any activities—including travel—in connection with embargoed countries because an export control license may be required. In addition, there are often restrictions on traveling to these destinations.

It is allowable to host and teach a student or researcher visiting from an embargoed country who is in the U.S. on a visa, provided the studies or research activities do not involve the unauthorized disclosure of EAR- or ITAR-controlled technical data. It is the responsibility of the Downstate research and program staff to ensure they are NOT exporting any sort of goods, services, or money to the individual after s/he returns to his or her home country.

Sponsored Programs Administration uses Visual Compliance software to screen sanctioned and embargoed countries for every submission where there is will be a consortium partnership. We also use it to screen all Independent Contractors prior to executing an agreement to ensure we are compliant with federal regulations pertaining to sanctioned and embargoed countries. The federal government also screens for this institutions and companies prior to making an award.